(photo credit: Elizabeth Ramos)

Patrice Sarath is an author and editor living in Austin, Texas. Her novels include the fantasy books The Sisters Mederos and Fog Season (Books I and II of the Tales of Port Saint Frey), the series Books of the Gordath (Gordath Wood, Red Gold Bridge, and The Crow God’s Girl) and the romance The Unexpected Miss Bennet.

Patrice is the author of numerous short stories that have appeared in several magazines and anthologies, including Weird Tales, Black Gate, Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, Realms of Fantasy, and many others. Her short story “A Prayer for Captain La Hire” was included in Year’s Best Fantasy of 2003 compiled by David Hartwell and Katherine Cramer. Her story “Pigs and Feaches,” originally published in Apex Digest, was reprinted in 2013 in Best Tales of the Apocalypse by Permuted Press.

Patrice is an avid horsewoman. She also enjoys bike-riding and hiking the woods and trails outside Austin.


  • The Sisters Mederos (2018, Angry Robot Books)
  • Fog Season (2019, Angry Robot Books)
  • The Crow God’s Girl (2012)
  • The Unexpected Miss Bennet (2011, Robert Hale and Penguin)
  • Red Gold Bridge (2009, Penguin Berkley)
  • Gordath Wood (2008, Penguin Berkley)

Short stories (see the Anthology page for full text of selected stories):

  • A Prayer for Captain La Hire (2002, Black Gate, 2003 Year’s Best Fantasy)
  • Bad Amy (2006, Space Squid)
  • Bad Dog (2015, Andromeda Spaceways In-Flight Magazine; 2017 Deep Magic)
  • Blood on the Snow (1999, Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine; 2017 Bloodbound)
  • Ice (2005, Realms of Fantasy)
  • Into the Dark (2002, Realms of Fantasy)
  • Lonely Cries the Winter Wind (2008, Edge of Propinquity)
  • Memories of Gravity (2013, The Mammoth Book of Futuristic Romance)
  • More to Glory (2002, Low-Port anthology)
  • Murder on the Hohmann (2016, Futuristica Vol I)
  • Pigs and Feaches (2007, Apex Digest, 2013 Best Tales of the Apocalypse)
  • Pilot’s Forge (2009, Mammoth Book of Time Travel Romance)
  • Reparations (2000, Romance & Beyond)
  • The Djinn Game (1999, Such a Pretty Face)
  • The Gig in the Hall of Kings (2004, Cafe Ole anthology)
  • The Lunch Thief (2007, Weird Tales, published as Bagged Lunch)
  • The Night of Their Conversion (2007, Space Squid)
  • The Warlord and the Princess (1999, Beyond the Rose, 2002 Andromeda Spaceways)


Brandyn Briley · January 14, 2016 at 1:46 pm

I have really enjoyed the Gordath Wood series. Is there going to be a book 4?

Patrice Sarath · January 14, 2016 at 2:41 pm

There will be a Book 4 — however, right now it is on the back burner. I have an exciting new series on the way. I have not forgotten Book 4 and it will be a fitting closure to the series. Thanks for asking!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.